Saline Courthouse

Saline Courthouse Museum

When Cherokees arrived in Indian Territory, they created eight new districts from the new land. These were based on the 1839 Constitution of Cherokee Nation. A ninth district, the Cooweescoowee (coo-wees-coo-wee) district, was later added in 1856 by the Act of the National Council. This would become the home of Saline Courthouse Museum, located in Rose, Oklahoma.

Out of all nine courthouses, it is the only one still standing. Today, the courthouse is being renovated to serve as a museum that highlights Cherokee history in the area.